Peach and almond upside-down cake

I was met with a dilemma the other day. I needed to go grocery shopping and it was late at night so the only place open was *insert name of mega grocery chain here*. Out of convenience, I bought my fruit and veges from the monolith only to have them go bad on me within a day. There are some lessons to be learnt here:

1. Sometimes it’s better to go without rather than sacrificing quality for convenience
2. If you have fruit that may be textually offensive but not so to the taste, there is always something you can use it for.
3. Cakes made with almond meal are bloody awesome.

I decided to use my squishy peaches for a cake. This is my own recipe so I hope I can remember the exact measurements. Note, cake batter made with almond meal is a little bit more forgiving than its flour counterpart, cookie dough, tarts or delicate desserts like crème anglaise or parfait. You can generally tell by the consistency of the cake batter whether it is ready to hit the oven or not. That being said, it’s best to keep the proportions as exact as possible.

peaches!

Anyway, this is what I used

- About a 1/3 cup brown sugar
– 80 g unsalted butter
– 1 cup caster sugar
– 2 1/2 cup almond meal
– 5 eggs
– 2 teaspons baking powder
– dash vanilla extract
– 2 ripe peaches

1. To begin with I used a springform cake tin about 24cm in diameter. I then greased and lined the base with baking paper before sprinkling it with the brown sugar. Melt 15g butter and evenly coat the sugared cake tin base (if you need more melted butter do so- it should be properly soaked).
2. Cut the peaches into even wedges about 1 cm thick and line the base, overlapping each slice.
3. Beat the caster sugar and remaining 65g butter until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time and the vanilla extract. Add the almond meal and baking powder and beat until combined.
4. Pour the batter over the peachy bottom and bake in a 160C conventional oven for about 50 minutes or until the cake is golden and the skewer is clean when tested.

Flip it over to serve!

Finished product!

Pretty easy hey! It was suggested to me that the cake would work really well with cherries, pears or apple. I bet plums would be equally tasty!

About plate3quartersfull

I love all things food and I believe there is no such thing as the perfect meal. It's the diversity in food and the surprises met with every bite that makes food a drug for the senses.
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

